Suche: Interpret Titel Label go

14.99 €
EAN: 8427328609500
Bestellnr.: FS 0950
Preiscode: 132
DICK CARY , John Plonsky & Don Stratton
Dixieland Goes Progressive + Modern Jazz with Dixieland Root
"Progressive Dixieland" is a term which would appear to be self-contradictory, the two words being often used individually to describe two different conceptions of jazz. Judged by their work on Dixieland Goes Progressive, Dick Cary and John Plonsky must surely be listed as two of the brighter arrangers in the field of jazz history. Given identical assignments-the refurbishing of Dixieland standards in the manner of progressive jazz-they both accepted the challenge and came up with a fresh concept of old music which is astonishingly pleasant and thoroughly amusing, which seems to indicate that there is a point at which both concepts and sounds can come together without being out of context with one another. Throughout the album, men like Urbie Green, Sal Salvador, Hall Overton, Tony Aless, Johnny Glasel, Don Arnone and, of course, Cary and Plonsky themselves, are consistently wonderful.
On Modern Jazz with Dixieland Roots, Don Stratton and Phil Sunkel went about adapting chiefly Dixieland opuses to their own use, and they wrote two originals apiece. First they assembled a group with unique instrumentation, yet one based firmly in jazz history. Two trumpets lead the way here-lead it brightly and weavingly and with sensitive interplay. Abetting them is the muscular tenor saxophone of ex-Woody Hermanite, Dick Hafer. Rhythm section is bassist Chuck Andrus, drummer Karl Kiffe, and Dave McKenna and John Williams splitting piano chores. The set swings, and the men responsible are clearly modernists, with roots not only to some extent in Dixieland, but more tellingly in the blues and in the best of the swing era.
Sources: Tracks #1-12, from the 12-inch album "Dixieland Goes Progressive" (Golden Crest CR 3024)
Tracks #13-22, from the 12-inch album "Modern Jazz with Dixieland Roots" (ABC Paramount ABC-118)
Personnel on tracks #1-6: THE DICK CARY GROUP Dick Cary, trumpet, alto-horn; Johnny Glasel, trumpet; Urbie Green, trombone; Will Stanley, tuba; Bob Wilber, clarinet, tenor sax; Hall Overton, piano; Sal Salvador, guitar; Bill Stanley, bass, tuba; Jerry Segal, drums.
Recorded in New York, June 11, 1957
Personnel on tracks #7-12: THE JOHN PLONSKY GROUP John Plonsky, trumpet; Urbie Green, trombone; Bill Barber, tuba; Carl Janelly, clarinet; Tony Aless, piano; Don Arnone, guitar; Jack Zimmerman, bass; Mel Zelnick, drums.
Recorded in New York, June 7, 1957
Personnel on tracks #13-17: DON STRATTON GROUP Don Stratton, trumpet; John Williams, piano; Dick Hafer, tenor sax; Chuck Andrus, bass; Karl Kiffe, drums.
Recorded in New York, February 9, 1956
Personnel on tracks #18-22:
Don Stratton, Phil Sunkel, trumpets; Dave McKenna, piano; Chuck Andrus, bass; Karl Kiffe, drums.
Recorded in New York, February 12, 1956
Original recording produced by Clark Galehouse and Creed Taylor
Liner notes: Jordi Pujol / Jack Tracy
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
Hi Fi / Mono · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered


  1. Mahogany Hall Stomp (S.Williams) 2:36
  2. Muskrat Ramble (E.Ory) 2:12
  3. That's a Plenty (L.Pollack) 3:19
  4. St. James Infirmary (J.Primrose) 3:18
  5. Darktown Strutters' Ball (S.Brooks) 1:59
  6. Milenberg Joys (Morton-Mores-Rappolo-Melrose) 2:35
  7. Royal Garden Blues (Williams-Williams) 2:45
  8. High Society (Piron-Williams) 2:04
  9. Way Down Yonder in New Orleans (Creamer-Layton) 3:01
  10. Basin Street Blues (S.Williams) 2:54
  11. When the Saints Go Marching In (P.D.) 2:46
  12. South Rampart Street Parade (Bauduc-Haggart) 2:18
  13. Black Bottom (Henderson-DeSylva-Brown) 2:43
  14. Wigglin' an' Gigglin' (Don Stratton) 4:22
  15. What Is This Thing Called Love? (Cole Porter) 3:37
  16. Sunday (Conn-Styne-Krueger-Miller) 3:54
  17. Moxahala (Phil Sunkel) 3:42
  18. Royal Garden Blues (Williams-Williams) 3:29
  19. Sow Goo Mang (Phil Sunkel) 4:14
  20. Charleston (Johnson-McPherson) 3:08
  21. Yesterdays (Kern-Harbach) 3:19
  22. R.H.S. (Don Stratton) 3:04

> Weitere Artikel des Interpreten

> zurück