Suche: Interpret Titel Label go
A <    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z    1    4    

14.99 €
EAN: 8427328609531
Bestellnr.: FS 0953
Preiscode: 132
GUY LAFITTE & André Persiany
Les Classiques du Jazz · Complete Recordings (2 LP on 1 CD)
In the 1950's, tenor saxophonist Guy Lafitte (1927-1998) was considered one of the luminaries of European jazz. In his playing he integrated the harmonic and rhythmic contributions of modern jazz to a more classical style in the lines of Buddy Tate, Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis, Frank Wess and many others who were influenced by Coleman Hawkins and Hershel Evans.
For Lafitte, the emphasis of his playing was always in the strength of his sound, and in his swinging approach to the language of jazz, both qualities that earned him the Django Reinhardt Prize in 1954, the highest honor granted by the French Academie du Jazz. That same year he became the immovable tenor sax of the Parisian cabaret "Les Trois Mailletz", where he played for almost four years in the company of his friend and pianist André Persiany "Pépé." In him, Lafitte found his perfect partner, and their relationship was immortalized in these two volumes of "Classiques du Jazz," gathered here for the first time.
They show Lafitte blowing with solid vitality and virility, carrying with his horn the bulk of these excellent sessions. Persiany doesn't lag behind though: his piano is firm enough to keep up with Lafitte, and suave enough to counterbalance him. Furthermore, each tune gives him unrestricted opportunity for some eloquent soloing. As for the rhythm section it works gracefully and naturally, with Paul Rovère on bass, and Teddy Martin or Christian Garros on drums. All concerned enjoyed themselves thoroughly, a spirit that readily communicates here from start to finish.
Total time: 69:37 min.
Tracks #1-11, from Columbia 10" LP "Les Classiques du Jazz" (FP 1074)
Tracks #12-25, from Columbia 12" LP "Les Classiques du Jazz Vol.2" (FPX 145)
Personnel: Guy Lafitte, tenor sax; André Persiany, piano; Paul Rovère, bass; Teddy Martin or Christian Garros (#12-25), drums.
Recorded in Paris, October 20 (#1-6), December 2 (#7-11), 1955 and October 28 (#14,15,20,24), October 29 (#12,13,16-19,21-23,25), 1957
Photography: Création Publicis / Jean Mainbourg
Liner notes: Michel LaVerdure / Jordi Pujol
Original recordings produced by Jean-Paul Guiter
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
Hi Fi / Mono · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered


  1. Down in Honky-Tonk Town (McCarron-Smith-Smith) 2:00
  2. Melancholy (Bloom-Melrose-Schoebel) 2:21
  3. Savoy Blues (Kid Ory) 2:46
  4. I'll Never Be the Same (Malneck-Signorelli) 3:07
  5. At Sundown (Walter Donaldson) 2:06
  6. Careless Love (W.C. Handy) 2:30
  7. Ole Miss (W.C. Handy) 2:55
  8. Nobody Knows When I'm Down and Out (Jimmy Cox) 3:45
  9. Basin Street Blues (Spencer Williams) 3:24
  10. Black and Blue (F.Waller-H.Brooks) 2:51
  11. Struttin' with Some Barbecue (Lil Hardin' Armstrong) 3:32
  12. I'm Coming Virginia (Heywood-Cook) 2:41
  13. St. James Infirmary (Joe Primrose) 2:27
  14. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (Barris-Moll-Koehler) 3:40
  15. Dear Old Southland (Layton-Creamer) 3:12
  16. When It's Sleepy Time Down South (Muse-René-René) 2:06
  17. I Ain't Got Nobody (Williams-Graham) 1:46
  18. Ain't Misbehavin' (Waller-Brooks) 2:54
  19. I've Found A New Baby (Williams-Palmer) 2:19
  20. Frankie and Johnnie (Traditional) 2:50
  21. Chicago (Fred Fisher) 3:07
  22. Sugar Blues (Williams-Fletcher) 3:20
  23. Baby Won't You Please Come Home (Warfield- Williams) 1:52
  24. Rockin' Chair (Hoagy Carmichael) 2:45
  25. Squeeze Me (Waller-Williams) 2:16

> Weitere Artikel des Interpreten

> zurück