Suche: Interpret Titel Label go
A <    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    V    W    Y    

18.99 €
EAN: 96297044520
Bestellnr.: 445
Preiscode: 348
La Musique Creole
First released in 1967 on the Melodeon label (and later on Biograph), the first half of this CD is the finest example of old style la la, or authentic Creole music, later transformed by Clifton Chenier and Boozoo Chavis into Zydeco, that one can find. Old style was generally an equal interplay of accordion and fiddle and is done superbly here by the celebrated partnership of 'Bois Sec' Ardoin and Fontenot. Sung entirely in French, the album is full of blues and French dance tunes reflecting their deeply personal hardships and joys. Joyous, rambunctious, melancholic, reflective and moody, it has it all. The second part, recorded by Chris Strachwitz in their home near Mamou, Louisiana, while in a slightly more modern setting, is still the ultimate old time Creole experience. Alphonse is a cousin of Amédé Ardoin, the first Creole accordionist to document this Creole playing in his seminal 20s and 30s recordings, and is carrying the tradition as he has from the early 60s. Unfortunately Canray Fontenot is no longer with us, having died in July of 1995, Truly, this CD is a must, an all platinum recording for its merits as a musical heritage of this lost, vast country we call home.

Steve Dean - Music City Texas


  1. Les Blues Du Voyageur
  2. Jolie Bassette
  3. Quo' Faire
  4. Le Chicot A Bois Sec
  5. Bon Soir, Moreau
  6. La Robe Barree
  7. 'Tit Monde
  8. Valse A Canray
  9. La Valse De La Prison
  10. La Danse De La Misere
  11. La Valse D' Oberlin
  12. Les Haricots
  13. Fais Pas Ca!
  14. Duralde Ramble
  15. 'Tit Galop
  16. Allez-Vous-En
  17. Laccasine Breakdown
  18. Chere Ici, Chere La Bas
  19. Opelousas Waltz
  20. Petite Et La Grosse
  21. Le Boss (Rice Farmer)
  22. Jupe Courte
  23. Jolie Catin
  24. Ardoin Two- Step
  25. Home Sweet Home

> Weitere Artikel des Interpreten

> zurück